Emotional Distance

I have figured out that I tend to let external instances determine my emotions and my self-esteem. If I make a mistake and I get criticism, I tend to take it to heart and start to think that there is something wrong with me. Although, my therapist pointed out that mistakes are made and that says nothing about who I am and my character. It only determines my actions during that situation. That. Is. All. But, I have always let criticism get to me in the way that I start to doubt myself. Boyfriend broke up with me and I started doubting my self-worth because why, when we were doing so well, did he have to end it? I also doubt myself when I tend to cry daily because of missing him, like why am I not strong enough to be okay? Why did I let this breakup get to me when it obviously doesn’t bother him?

Leave a Reply

