Codes and Family Genealogy

I have always loved codes. Treasure maps using hidden clues. Anything to deal with codes.

This year I even had some pen pals where we created our code of letters or numbers and wrote letters to each other in that code. It was difficult at first. Then, it became fun after we learned the code and no longer had to use a reference.

I never knew where this love of codes came from.

Recently, I decided that I would do a genealogy of my family and find out about family members. It would help me find out about myself by finding out about my heritage/ancestors.

It turns out my great grandmother on my dad’s side was a Navy codebreaker in WWII. She was in WAVES and her unit was actually credited with breaking the Japanese code.

That’s awesome! I found out where my love of codes came from!

 

Leave a Reply

